One of the many facilities Racing And Sports provides for all users is the ability to access "audio" content. Because of our significant domestic and international presence at the race track and of it, not only are we delivering extensive racing information and technology along with form content, you can avail yourself of a substantial amount of interviews conducted by the Racing And Sports team.

They include discussions with Jockeys, Trainers and Owners through the week, Post-Race interviews, Press conferences at major meetings and also Race Day Previews from our racing staff. All these emanate from racing right around the world.

 Press Room

Legends Join SA Hall Of Fame

Four legends of the turf were inducted into the South Australian Racing Hall Of Fame as part of the South Australian Racing industry awards on September 13.

Comic Court, Grahame Heagney, Jim Johnson and David Coles joined greats such as Colin Hayes, Pat Glennon and Tobin Bronze for their outstanding achievements and contributions to the racing industry.

Comic Court, who started 53 times for 28 wins and 15 placings, won the 1950 Melbourne Cup along with a host of feature Group 1 wins in his illustrious career.

Grahame Heagney was best known for preparing Hall Of Fame galloper Tobin Bronze - winner of two Cox Plates - but also prepared Melbourne Cup winner Gatum Gatum (1963), Adelaide Cup winners Borgia (1957) and Rain Lover (1968) and consistent galloper Proud Miss.

There were few feature races "Bluey" Heagney didn't win as a trainer.

Jim Johnson won an amazing 125 feature races including 36 at Group 1 level. Johnson was aboard Tobin Bronze in his two Cox Plate successes, and won three Melbourne Cups on Gatum Gatum and Rain Lover twice.

The affable Johnson rode a total of 2158 winners in a career spanning 32 years in the saddle.

David Coles began a career in racing in 1948 and was honoured for his outstanding services to racing, which continue today in his role in the Swettenham Stud organisation.

Along with roles such as bloodstock manager for Coles Brothers Limited, Dalgety Australia and Swettenham Stud, Coles helped import 400 horses to begin racing in Hong Kong, was general manager at ABCOS and served on the Port Adelaide Racing Club and South Australian Jockey Club committees.

In 1986 he was awarded the Australian Medal for his services to the racing industry.

The Awards night also celebrated the achievements of local racing participants.

The award winners were:

Tony McEvoy - South Australian Trainer Of The Year, Metropolitan Trainer Of The Year and Country Trainer Of The Year.

Eric Musgrove - Jumps Trainer Of The Year

Jason Holder - Glennon-Johnson Metropolitan Jockey Of The Year

Simon Price - South Australian Jockey Of The Year, Country Jockey Of The Year.

Matthew Neilson - South Australian Apprentice Of The Year

Grant Young - Jumps Jockey Of The Year

Hydrometer - South Australian Horse Of The Year

Identifiable - Most Consistent Racehorse

Most Outstanding Achievement Award - tie between Balaklava Racing Club and trainer Mick Whittle

Bill Williams - Sportsmanship Award

Don Zippel - Minister For Sport, Recreation and Racing Volunteer Of The Year Award

Racing And Sports

Check out FREE Full Race results for nine separate countries.

News Talk is designed for debate, discussion regarding the above News story. We welcome you to submit your comments to News Talk relating to this story.


Your IP has been recorded for our records. This information is not published.
  By posting this message you agree to Disclaimer/Terms of Use.