Derby Winner Boasts A Classic Pedigree

The classic genes of Wings Of Eagles pointed to his upset win in Saturday’s Epsom Derby.

Derby Winner Boasts A Classic Pedigree

The classic genes of Wings Of Eagles pointed to his upset win in Saturday’s Epsom Derby.

He is by Pour Moi, who won the classic in 2011, and he descends on his dam side from the family of Lammtarra, who won the Epsom Derby in 1995.

Wings Of Eagles is a grandson of Montjeu, who did not run in the Epsom classic but won the Prix du Jockey-Club (French Derby) and the Irish Derby in 1999.

Montjeu was following the path of his own sire Sadler's Wells, who finished second in the 1984 running of Prix du Jockey-Club behind Darshaan.

Montjeu, who died in 2012, is the sire of four Derby winners. Wings Of Eagles is his first Epsom Derby-winning grandson.

Pour Moi
Pour Moi Picture:Racing and Sports

Wings Of Eagles Horseform is a member of only Pour Moi’s second crop but embarrassingly for Coolmore Stud the stallion was downgraded to a National Hunt sire this year by the breeding giant after he attracted a book of only 57 mares in 2016 although there were positive signs for him last year in Australia when he sired the G1 winner Sacred Elixir from his shuttle stay at New Zealand’s Windsor Park Stud.

Wings Of Eagles was bred in France by Aliette and Gilles Forien of Haras de la Reboursière et de Montaigu in Normandy.

He is out of their homebred mare Ysoldina (Kendor), who was a G1 runner-up and finished third in the G1 Poule d'Essai des Pouliches (French 1000 Guineas). Ysoldina has an unnamed 2YO colt by Holy Roman Emperor and a yearling by Kingman.

Wings Of Eagles was sold as a yearling at the Arqana August Sale in 2015 for 220,000 euros where he bought by MV Magnier, son of Coolmore boss John Magnier.

It is the second year in succession that a Derby winner has bred a Derby winner. Last year's winner Harzand is by Sea The Stars, who won the classic in 2009.

At 40/1, Wings Of Eagles was the longest-priced Epsom Derby winner since Snow Knight scored at 50/1 in 1974.

His win continues the Coolmore partnership domination of the Derby. Other Coolmore partnerships have won the Derby with Australia (2014), Ruler Of The World (2013), Camelot (2012), Pour Moi (2011), High Chaparral (2002) and Galileo (2001).

Trainer Aidan O'Brien has now won the Derby six times from 73 starters while wining jockey Padraig Beggy, by contrast, was having his first ride in the classic.

Ironically he as the first Derby debutant to succeed since Mickael Barzaloa rode Pour Moi in 2011.

Racing And Sports

Check out our FREE full form, ratings for meetings in nine countries each and every day.

Latest Stories