2018 Brisbane Cup: Race History

2018 Brisbane Cup overview including Race History for the Group 2 feature at Doomben on Saturday featuring the stayers like Ambitious and Rising Red

2018 Brisbane Cup: Race History

The Race History of the 2018 Brisbane Cup run at Doomben on Saturday has changed dramatically since the reduction in journey.

Viewed Picture:Racing and Sports

Viewed Horseform won the race at a mile and a half by seven lengths then took the Melbourne Cup later that year. Can’t see that being likely in the 2018 Brisbane Cup (2200m) at Doomben on Saturday.

2018 Brisbane Cup: Nominations


The Brisbane Cup is a feature stating race conducted by the Brisbane Racing Club as a highlight of the Queensland winter racing carnival.

The Brisbane Cup was first run in 1866 – five years after the first Melbourne Cup – and varied in distance in its formative years from one and three quarter miles (2800m) up to two and a quarter miles (3600m).

Traditionally run in June at Eagle Farm, the Brisbane Cup distance settled at two miles (3200m) in 1884 and remained at that trip until 2006 with the exceptions of 1888 (1¾ miles) and 1946 (1 ½ miles).

The race was suspended during the war years from 1942-1945 when the military occupied Eagle Farm. When racing resumed in 1946 the race was named the Victory Cup.

The Brisbane Cup, run under handicap conditions, held Group One status from 1979 until 2007 when it was downgraded to Group 2 and the distance reduced to 2400m.

It has only been run once at Doomben in 2015 over 2200m and returned to that track and distance in 2017/2018.

The 2018 Brisbane Cup will be worth prizemoney of $300,000.

Many notable stayers have won the Brisbane Cup including the Melbourne Cup winners Macdougal (1959) and Viewed (2008). Reckless won the Sydney, Adelaide and Brisbane Cups in 1977 before finishing second in the Melbourne Cup.

There have been five multiple winners of the Brisbane Cup – Fitz Grafton (1904/05); St Valore (1932/1934); Spear Chief (1938/39); Fair Patton (1964/65) and Desert Chill (1995/1997).

New Zealand stayers have a great record in the race, chasing three in a row after Chocante and Benzini.

Other notable winners of the Brisbane Cup include Lough Neagh, Hydrogen, Redcraze, Timor, Valerius, Tulloch, Fulmen, Royal Shah, Mode, Igloo, Balmerino, Grey Affair, Love Bandit, Amarant, Chiamare, Foxseal, Lord Hybrow, Just A Dancer, Praise Indeed, Yippyio, Prized Gem, Scenic Shot and Lights Of Heaven.

Queen’s Road (1982) was the last 3YO to win the Brisbane Cup.

The 2017 Brisbane Cup was won by Chocante from Single Gaze and Pemberley.

Racing And Sports

News Talk is designed for debate, discussion regarding the above News story. We welcome you to submit your comments to News Talk relating to this story.


Your IP has been recorded for our records. This information is not published.
  By posting this message you agree to Disclaimer/Terms of Use.

Latest Stories