2018 Doomben Cup: Race History

2018 Doomben Cup overview including Race History for the Group 1 feature at Doomben on Saturday featuring the WFA horses like Ambitious and Satono Rasen

2018 Doomben Cup: Race History

Some of the greats adorn the Race History of the 2018 Doomben Cup at Doomben on Saturday.

Defier Picture:Racing and Sports

Top WFA horses like Defier Horseform took it out and could we see another in the 2018 version of the Doomben Cup (2000m) at Doomben on Saturday.

2018 Doomben Cup: Nominations


The Doomben Cup is a Group 1 race for open class middle distance horses conducted by the Brisbane Racing Club at Doomben.

The Doomben Cup was first run in 1933 and was won by Pentheus.

The Doomben Cup is run over 2000m under Weight For Age conditions.

From 2002 to 2006 the race was run at 2200m but with the Brisbane Cup downgrade in distance and status, the Doomben Cup has come back in distance as well.

Cinque Cento was the first mare to win in donkey’s ages before Streama won in 2014.

The AD Hollindale Stakes at the Gold Coast is the natural lead up.

Rough Habit won three in a row 91/92/93 after placing as a 3yo in 1990. That coincided with his Stradbroke wins of 91/92.

The 1994 Doomben Cup saw Durbridge survive a protest from stable mate Paris Lane.

The 2018 edition of the Doomben Cup is worth $650,000.

Notable winners of the Doomben Cup include Bernborough (1946), Winfreux (1966), Divide And Rule (1970), Tails (1971), Dandy Andy (1987), Rough Habit (1991/1992/1993), Durbridge (1994), Danewin (1995), Juggler (1996), Might And Power (1998), Intergaze (1999), Defier (2004), Streama (2014), Pornichet (2015) and Our Ivanhowe (2016).

The 2017 Doomben Cup was won by Sense Of Occasion from Star Exhibit and Rudy.

Racing And Sports

News Talk is designed for debate, discussion regarding the above News story. We welcome you to submit your comments to News Talk relating to this story.


Your IP has been recorded for our records. This information is not published.
  By posting this message you agree to Disclaimer/Terms of Use.

Latest Stories