2019 Chairman’s Sprint Prize: Race History

2019 Chairman’s Sprint Prize overview including Race History for the Group 1 feature at Sha Tin on Sunday featuring the sprinters

2019 Chairman’s Sprint Prize: Race History

We’ve seen some great performances in the Chairman’s Sprint Prize run at Sha Tin on Sunday.

Chautauqua Picture:HKJC

Chautauqua Horseform provided one of them coming from last in 2016. What will happen in the 2019 Chairman’s Sprint Prize (1200m) at Sha Tin on Sunday?


The Chairman’s Sprint Prize is a Group 1 race run under Weight For Age conditions for the sprinters at Sha Tin conducted by Hong Kong Jockey Club.

The Chairman’s Sprint Prize is run over 1200m. It was first run in 1979 as the Hong Kong Sprint Championship when Sha Tin was opened.

Chautauqua winning the 2016 Chairman's Sprint Prize

The first winner was the Arthur Ward trained Ever Win who took the first running under Tony Cruz.

Ivan Allan had a great run going, winning six times in seven years from 1995.

Some of Hong Kong’s best short coursers have taken it out, many of whom have taken international prizes.

The 2016 edition was the first time it was an international G1 contest with prize money upped to HK$10 million. The race was shifted to a May date - as the final leg of the Hong Kong Speed Series and the fourth leg of the Global Sprint Challenge - to fill the void left by Singapore’s discontinued KrisFlyer International Sprint.

One of the all-time best wins you’d see came from Australian sprinter Chautauqua in that 2016 running. He was two lengths last out of the gates and still 12 lengths back on the corner.

But much like many of his famous wins at home, he rounded up the field to score held together on the line.

2017 winner Lucky Bubbles gave his trainer Francis Lui a career-first G1 success. He was also the 16th Australian-bred to win the Chairman’s Sprint Prize since it was upgraded to HKG1 status in 1992. Ivictory added to that tally.

Quicken Away is the only horse to have won the Chairman’s Sprint Prize three times (1989, 1990 & 1991). Seven others since 1985 won this race twice, the latest being Lucky Nine in 2013 & 2014.

Silent Witness in 2004 and Sacred Kingdom in 2008 were the only two four-year-olds to have won this race since 2000 before Ivictory in 2018. The last three-year-old to win was Fairy King Prawn in 1999.

Jockey Brett Prebble has an outstanding record in this race, collecting four wins (Lucky Nine 2013 & 2014, Sacred Kingdom 2010, Absolute Champion 2007) and placing on seven other occasions.

Basil Marcus is the most successful jockey in Chairman’s Sprint Prize history, having won the race five times. His first win aboard Concert King in 1992 also denied Quicken Away a record fourth win in the race.

While Ivan Allan is the all-time most successful trainer in this race with six wins, John Moore is the most successful active trainer, having notched four wins and 17 placings from 60 runners since 1986. He is followed by Ricky Yiu, the most successful home-grown trainer in this race with three wins.

Favourites have won 16 of the past 33 editions, including 11 that started even money or shorter. Dim Sum won the 2009 renewal at 50/1 and was the longest-priced winner in that period.

The Chairman’s Sprint Prize is worth HK$16m in 2019.

Some notable winners of the Chairman’s Sprint Prize include Lucky Bubbles (2017), Chautauqua (2016), Gold-Fun (2015), Lucky Nine (2013/2014), Sacred Kingdom (2008/2010), Absolute Champion (2007), Silent Witness (2004/2005), Fairy King Prawn (1999/2001) and Mr Vitality (1995/1996).

The 2018 Chairman’s Sprint Prize was won by Ivictory from Mr Stunning and Beat The Clock.

Racing And Sports

News Talk is designed for debate, discussion regarding the above News story. We welcome you to submit your comments to News Talk relating to this story.


Your IP has been recorded for our records. This information is not published.
  By posting this message you agree to Disclaimer/Terms of Use.

Latest Stories