I didn't drop it, insists Broncos' Milford
Brisbane playmaker Anthony Milford has denied he dropped the ball in the lead up to his match-winning field goal against South Sydney.
Brisbane ace Anthony Milford has fired back at suggestions he dropped the ball in the lead-up to his match-winning field goal against South Sydney.
The Broncos playmaker was also adamant Tautau Moga's controversial try late in the second half to level the scores was correctly awarded despite confusion reigning over the bunker's decision.
Milford was at the centre of several dramatic incidents in his side's 25-24 NRL win over the Rabbitohs on Friday night, including his 78th minute one-pointer which sealed victory for Wayne Bennett's team.
South Sydney coach Michael Maguire was left seething after Milford appeared to bobble the ball in the lead-up to slotting the winning field goal.
The livewire five-eighth was forced to bend low to the ground and appeared to momentarily lose control of the ball, with some suggesting it touched the turf, but Milford said he was unfazed by the controversy and insisted he had maintained control.
"There was no doubt in my mind I caught that ball on the field goal," he said.
"I didn't hit that as sweet as I could, but the main thing is it went over.
"I caught it. And if I dropped it I wouldn't have hit it. I wouldn't even try to snap it."
Maguire and Souths skipper Sam Burgess again questioned the performance of the referees and bunker after Moga crossed to even up the scores 11 minutes from fulltime.
Milford got over the line but appeared to be help up, only for the ball to be raked out the back of the ruck where Moga picked it up to score.
The Rabbitohs argued that the tackle had been completed and therefore Moga shouldn't have been allowed to swoop on the ball.
Milford retorted by saying that not only was Moga within his rights to dive over, he had got the ball down and his try should have counted anyway.
"I honestly thought I got it down. I know I got it down," Milford said.
"They stripped it out and lucky enough Tau played to the whistle and he scored.
"I think it went up as a try and I don't think they found conclusive evidence that it was no try but we got the two points and that's all that mattered."
- ● Happy Valley Selections for 26th April 2017
- ● Neorealism in Sunday’s APQEII Cup affirms Moreira’s rising world status
- ● Moore happy with Queen Mother quartet ahead of G3 feature
- ● Audemars Piguet Queen Elizabeth II Cup Track Work