show me:

2022 The Roses - Race History

3 minute read

Will this be the Oaks form in The Roses run at Eagle Farm on Saturday?

Youngstar winning the Magic Millions The Roses
Youngstar winning the Magic Millions The Roses Picture: Racing and Sports

Youngstar did the double so the 2022 The Roses (2100m) at Eagle Farm on Saturday is a guide for the G1 race.

2022 The Roses: Nominations


The Roses is a Group 2 race for three-year-old fillies conducted by the Brisbane Racing Club.

The Roses was introduced in 1996 and is run under set weights conditions over a distance of 2000m at Doomben as the major Brisbane lead-up race to the Queensland Oaks. It used to be known as the Doomben Roses.

However only three fillies have won the Doomben Roses-Queensland Oaks double – Ethereal (2001), Scarlett Lady (2011) and Youngstar (2018). Ethereal went on to win the Caulfield and Melbourne Cup double the following spring.

The Roses was run over 1625m in 1996 and 1615m in 1997. From 1998-2011 the distance was 2020m, 2000m from 2012-2014, 2020m in 2015 and back to 2000m in 2016.

It was at 1800m in 2020 and at Eagle Farm due to the restricted carnival. It's back to 2000m at Doomben in 2021.

Race had to be pushed back one week in 2022, changed to 2100m and moved to Eagle Farm due to a massive amount of rain.

The Roses was a Listed race from 1996 to 2002 and Group 3 from 2003 to 2016. It was run as a Group 2 for the first time in 2017.

New Zealanders Roger James and Graeme Rogerson have each trained two Doomben Roses winners as well as Clarry Conners and Chris Waller. Greg Childs, Darren Beadman and John Allen are jockeys to win the race twice.

The 2022 Roses was run for prizemoney of $250,000.

Notable winners of The Roses include Melora, Episode, Ethereal, The Jewel, Cinque Cento, Gaze, Heavenly Glow, Scarlett Lady, Invest, Dear Demi, Arabian Gold, Bohemian Lily, Youngstar and Vanna Girl.

The 2021 Roses was won by Only Words from Bargain and Charms Star.

Racing and Sports

today's racing

Error occured