show me:

2022 Pretty Polly Stakes: Race History

3 minute read

Which of the classy mares will rise in the Pretty Polly Stakes at Curragh on Sunday?

MAGICAL Picture: Pat Healy Photography

Magical was such a top mare who won in 2020. Who does that in the 2022 Pretty Polly Stakes (2012m) at Curragh on Sunday?


The Pretty Polly Stakes is a Group 1 race run under Weight For Age conditions for fillies and mares at the Curragh conducted by the Curragh Racecourse for Horse Racing Ireland.

The Pretty Polly Stakes is run over a mile and a quarter. It was first run in 1948 and was won by Cobatlic.

It is one of two major races in Ireland for fillies and mares only. The other is the Matron Stakes.

2021 Alwasmiyah Pretty Polly Stakes (Group 1) - THUNDERING NIGHTS

The Pretty Polly Stakes is run on the round course. It was only for fillies but became unrestricted.

Originally a Group 2 it was elevated to Group 1 in 2004.

The race is named after one of the greats. Pretty Polly won so many big races at the start of the last century including the Triple Crown.

Two horses have more than one win – Dance Design and Alexander Goldrun.

In the last decade, only three fillies have saluted.

Leading trainer is held by Vincent O'Brien with seven wins.

Seven different jockeys have three wins in the race including Liam Ward, Bill Williamson, Johnny Roe, Lester Piggott, Christy Roche, Michael Kinane and Seamie Heffernan.

The Pretty Polly Stakes was worth €300,000 in 2022.

Notable winners of the Pretty Polly Stakes include Magical (2020), Minding (2016), Izzi Top (2012), Misty For Me (2011), Dar Re Mi (2009), Peeing Fawn (2007), Alexander Goldrun (2005/2006), Rebelline (2001), Alborada (1998), Dance Design (1996/1997), Prince's Polly (1982), Godetia (1979) and Pidget (1972).

The 2021 Pretty Polly Stakes was won by Thundering Nights from Santa Barbara and Cayenne Pepper.

Racing and Sports

today's racing

Error occured