show me:

2022 Tattersall’s Tiara: Race History

3 minute read

We end the G1 racing season through the Tattersall’s Tiara run at Eagle Farm on Saturday.

Melito Picture: Racing and Sports

Many top drawer mares are winners like Melito was. Will there be another in the 2022 Tattersall's Tiara (1400m) at Eagle Farm on Saturday?

2022 Tattersall's Tiara: Nominations


The Tattersall's Tiara is a Group 1 race for fillies and mares conducted by the Brisbane Racing Club as part of the Queensland racing carnival and is the final G1 each season.

The Tattersall's Tiara was first run in 1989 won by La Posette when it was known as the Winter Stakes. 2011 was the first running as the Tiara.

It was a Listed race from 1992 to 1995, G3 up to 2005, G2 in 2006 and G1 from 2007 until now.

2016 Tatts Tiara - Miss Cover Girl

The Tattersall's Tiara is run under Weight For Age conditions and is usually run over the 1400m at Eagle Farm but in 2017 was over 1350m at Doomben due to the issues with Eagle Farm. In 2015 they ran the race at Gold Coast. Eagle Farm hosted again in 2019.

In 1997 Dane Ripper won the Stradbroke then won this race before winning the Cox Plate later that year. Srikandi in 2015 and Tofane in 2021 also did the Stradbroke/Tiara double.

After so many tries in big races, Red Tracer got her rewards for effort in winning the 2013 Tiara. She would win a Myer Classic after that.

Favourites don't have the best record. There is a winning split between fillies and mares in recent runnings. Most run in the Stradbroke or Dane Ripper as the lead up.

Prompt Response was beaten a head in 2017 but got redemption a year later over a very good fillies and mares field.

In 2019, Invincibella fought back in between two Godolphin mares to win her first G1. However the other important notes from this race were that it gave Jason Collett his first major and Chris Waller broke the record for most G1s in a season (18).

The 2022 Tattersall's Tiara was worth $700,000 in prizemoney.

The 2020 edition was abandoned due to the coronavirus.

Past winners include Rich Pageantry (1993), Mamzelle Pedrille (1995), Dane Ripper (1997), Bonanova (1999/2000), Porto Roca (2001), Miss Potential (2004), Absolut Glam (2008), Melito (2010), Red Tracer (2013), Cosmic Endeavour (2014), Srikandi (2015) , Invincibella (2019) and Tofane (2021).

The 2021 Tattersall's Tiara was won by Tofane from Nudge and Sweet Deal.

Racing and Sports

today's racing

Error occured