show me:

2023 Railway Stakes: Race History

3 minute read

The Race History of the Railway Stakes run at Ascot on Saturday shows its importance in Perth.

Northerly Picture: Racing and Sports

Northerly is the best winner although Cox Plate form abounds. Who wins the 2023 Railway Stakes (1600m) at Ascot on Saturday?

2023 Railway Stakes Day: Nominations


The Railway Stakes is a Group 1 race run under Handicap conditions for the milers at Ascot conducted by Perth Racing.

The Railway Stakes is run over 1600m. It was first run in 1887 and was won by Nimrod.

The race was originally run on Perth Cup day as a support race.

2022 Railway Stakes - Trix Of The Trade

Early editions of the Railway Stakes were over 2000m but gradually reduced to 1500m until back up to a mile from 1984 onwards.

The Railway Stakes was a Principal Race then became a Group 1 from 1979.

Light weights do have a top record in the Railway. The 56.5kg (Sniper's Bullet) was the biggest weight carried since the metric system came in before Luckygray (58kg) scored in remarkable circumstances in 2013.

Gathering, Good Project, Scales Of Justice and Great Shot led all the way in recent years.

Four year olds have won 27 of the last 64 Railways.

Some Cox Plate winners have won the Railway before taking the Moonee Valley race. Both Northerly and Better Loosen Up kept improving enough to win the Plate the next year.

2003 running was at Belmont racecourse.

Those to do the Railway Stakes/Kingston Town Classic double are Better Loosen Up, Old Comrade, Modem and Sniper's Bullet.

Regal Power won in 2019 and ended the campaign winning the Ted Van Heemst Stakes. He ventured to Melbourne in the Autumn and won the second running of the All-Star Mile at Caulfield.

Inspirational Girl made it three wins on the trot for jockey William Pike, trainers Grant & Alana Williams and owner Bob Peters following Regal Power and Galaxy Star.

Then Western Empire made it four on the bounce for connections. It gave Pike the jockey's record and extended the Williams team as the winningest trainers. The winner was also the shortest priced victor in the race's history.

The Railway Stakes was worth $1,500,000 in 2023.

Notable winners of the Railway Stakes include Western Empire (2021), Inspirational Girl (2020), Regal Power (2019), Luckygray (2011/2013), Sniper's Bullet (2009), Modem (2004), Old Comrade (2001), Northerly (2000), Better Loosen Up (1989), Marwong (1988), Jungle Dawn (1987), Iko (1981), Asian Beau (1979), Detonator (1975), Starglow (1973), Millefleurs (1972), La Trice (1968), Big Bob (1961),  Aquanita (1959), Beaufine (1943) and Lilyveil (1914).

The 2022 Railway Stakes was won by Trix Of The Trade from Comfort Me and Startrade.

Racing and Sports