show me:

2022 Eclipse Stakes: Race History

3 minute read

So many legends have won the Eclipse Stakes run at Sandown on Saturday.

So You Think wins the 2011 Eclipse Stakes.
So You Think wins the 2011 Eclipse Stakes. Picture: Racing and Sports

Sea The Stars won it during his magical year. Will the 2022 Eclipse Stakes (2002m) at Sandown on Saturday be as good?


The Eclipse Stakes is a Group 1 race run under Set Weights conditions for three year olds and up at Sandown conducted by the Jockey Club.

The Eclipse Stakes is run over the mile and a quarter. It was first run in 1886 and was won by Bendigo.

It is the first of the open class middle distance and above Group 1s of the season to allow the 3yos to run. However in 2020 the 3yos were not ruled eligible for that edition after the Derby was delayed and run the day before due to the coronavirus.

St Mark’s Basilica SIMPLY STUNNING in the 2021 Coral-Eclipse Stakes for Ryan Moore and Aidan O'Brien

The Eclipse is run on a tough course making it a good stamina test. The Eclipse Stakes forms part of the British Champion Series.

During the two wars, the race was not run and in 1973 it was run at Kempton.

Notnowcato won a fascinating edition in 2007 beating the likes of Derby winner Authorized and George Washington by Ryan Moore heading to the outside fence.

The three year olds have had a fantastic trot in the Eclipse. In the last 20 years they have won it seven times.

In 2011, former Australian champion So You Think won his first English major by outstaying the Derby and Arc winner Workforce.

2018 Horse Of The Year Roaring Lion dropped back from placing in the Derby to win the Eclipse and then won another three more open age G1 races.

The great Enable made her 2019 seasonal return to win in style sitting on the pace under Frankie Dettori. She became one of the few mares to win. It also meant she emulated her father Nathaniel who took it out in 2012.

St Mark's Basilica added to his Dewhurst, Poule d'Essai des Poulains and Prix du Jockey Club wins by beating three rivals in 2021.

Leading trainers are Alec Taylor, Sir Michael Stoute and Aidan O'Brien with six victories.

Most wins as a jockey is by Lester Piggott with seven.

The Eclipse Stakes was worth £750,000 in 2022.

Notable winners of the Eclipse Stakes include St Mark's Basilica (2021), Ghaiyyath (2020), Enable (2019), Roaring Lion (2018), Golden Horn (2015), Nathaniel (2012), So You Think (2011), Sea The Stars (2009), Notnowcato (2007), Oratorio (2005), Falbrav (2003), Hawk Wing (2002), Giant's Causeway (2000), Daylami (1998), Halling (1995/1996), Opera House (1993), Nashwan (1989), Mtoto (1987/1988), Dancing Brave (1986), Sadler's Wells (1984), Kalaglow (1982), Ela-Mana-Mou (1980), Brigadier Gerard (1972), Mill Reef (1971), St Paddy (1961), Ballymoss (1958), Polyphontes (1924/1925), Buchan (1919/1920) and Orme (1892/1893).

The 2021 Eclipse Stakes was won by St Mark's Basilica from Addeybb and Mishriff.

Racing and Sports

today's racing

Error occured