show me:

2022 Doomben Cup - Race History

3 minute read

Back to back winner chased here in the Doomben Cup run at Eagle Farm on Saturday.

ZAAKI winning the Channel 7 Doomben Cup
ZAAKI winning the Channel 7 Doomben Cup Picture: Michael McInlally/Sportpix

Zaaki was so good last time around and may be again in the 2022 Doomben Cup (2100m) at Eagle Farm on Saturday.

2022 Doomben Cup: Nominations


The Doomben Cup is a Group 1 race for open class middle distance horses conducted by the Brisbane Racing Club at Doomben.

The Doomben Cup was first run in 1933 and was won by Pentheus.

The Doomben Cup is run over 2000m under Weight For Age conditions.

2019 Doomben Cup - Kenedna

From 2002 to 2006 the race was run at 2200m but with the Brisbane Cup downgrade in distance and status, the Doomben Cup has come back in distance as well.

Race had to be pushed back one week in 2022, changed to 2100m and moved to Eagle Farm due to a massive amount of rain.

Cinque Cento was the first mare to win in donkey's ages before Streama won in 2014 and then Kenedna in 2019.

The AD Hollindale Stakes at the Gold Coast is the natural lead up.

Great kiwi warrior Rough Habit won three in a row 91/92/93 after placing as a 3yo in 1990. That coincided with his Stradbroke wins of 91/92.

The 1994 Doomben Cup saw Durbridge survive a protest from stable mate Paris Lane.

The Freedmans have been associated through their various stables with Abstraction, Durbridge, Bush Padre, Mawingo and Our Ivanhowe.

Zaaki beat home one of the best Doomben Cup fields ever as he defeated six G1 winners in 2021 by 7L. He'd then win the Q22 before spelling and taking the Underwood Stks and Mackinnon Stks in the Spring. Returning north again he won the Hollindale Stks in 2022.

The 2022 edition of the Doomben Cup was worth $1,000,000.

The 2020 running was abandoned due to coronavirus.

Notable winners of the Doomben Cup include Bernborough (1946), Winfreux (1966), Divide And Rule (1970), Tails (1971), Dandy Andy (1987), Rough Habit (1991/1992/1993), Durbridge (1994), Danewin (1995), Juggler (1996), Might And Power (1998), Intergaze (1999), Defier (2004), Streama (2014), Pornichet (2015), Our Ivanhowe (2016), Kenedna (2019) and Zaaki (2021).

The 2021 Doomben Cup was won by Zaaki from Toffee Tongue and Brandenburg.

Racing and Sports

today's racing

Error occured