show me:

2023 Autumn Stakes: Race History

3 minute read

The Race History of the Autumn Stakes run at Sandown Hillside on Saturday shows stayers and sprinters win this.

Apache Cat
Apache Cat Picture: Racing and Sports

Apache Cat would go on to be a grand short courser. What will the 2023 Autumn Stakes (1400m) at Sandown Hillside on Saturday have in store?

2023 Autumn Stakes: Nominations


The Autumn Stakes is a Group 2 for three year olds conducted by the Melbourne Racing Club.

The Autumn Stakes was first run in 1979 and was won by Gondolier.

The Autumn Stakes is run over 1400m under Set Weights and Penalties conditions. It was worth $300,000 in 2023.

The race has been known by varying sponsors names but is registered as the Autumn Stakes. It became a 1400m race in 1987.

Since its inception it has gone from Listed race in 1979 to G3 from 1980 to 2007 and after that has been G2.

This meeting was traditionally run at Sandown and only became regularly run at Caulfield from 1997 but returns in 2023.

Not been a great race for fillies with Catechuchu, Special Harmony and Blaze The Turf the only fillies to win in last 25 years.

Only five have done the Autumn Stakes/Australian Guineas Double - Light Fantastic, Apache Cat, Dash For Cash, Dignity Dancer and King's High.

Notable winners of the Autumn Stakes include Lord Ballina (1983), Centaine (1984), Beach Gown (1986), King's High (1989), Canny Lad (1991), St Covet (1995), Tarnpir Lane (1997), Dignity Dancer (1999), Sudurka (2000), Desert Sky (2001), Dash For Cash (2002), Titanic Jack (2003), Special Harmony (2004), Shinzig (2005), Apache Cat (2006), Light Fantastic (2008), Denman (2010), Mahuta (2016) and Microphone (2020).

The 2022 Autumn Stakes was won by Coastwatch from Burning Power and Lucky Decision.

Racing and Sports

What’s gambling really costing you?

For free and confidential support call 1800 858 858 or visit