show me:

City's Socceroos striker not in ALM All Stars squad

3 minute read

Jamie Maclaren may have played his final game on Australian soil, not selected in the ALM All Stars squad to face Newcastle United ahead of a move overseas.

JAMIE MACLAREN. Picture: Robert Cianflone/Getty Images

Jamie Maclaren may have played his last game in Australia after the outgoing Melbourne City captain was not included in the A-League Men All Stars squad.

Maclaren, the A-League's all-time leading scorer (154 goals) has signalled his intent to move overseas and played his final game for City during their elimination final loss to Melbourne Victory.

All Stars coach Patrick Kisnorbo named a preliminary 13-player squad on Wednesday to play against Premier League side Newcastle United at Marvel Stadium on May 24.

The full All Stars squad will be revealed after the second leg of the ALM semi-finals this weekend, with players from the two losing sides set to bolster Kisnorbo's team.

Melbourne City will be represented by midfielder Tolgay Arslan and Socceroos forward Mathew Leckie.

The preliminary line-up also features Bayern-Munich bound Nestory Irankunda and Socceroos forward Adam Taggart.

"There is no doubting the talent currently playing in the A-League Men, within this squad we have rising stars, Socceroos and international stars," Kisnorbo said.

"This squad is excited for this challenge and they can't wait to test themselves against world class players who play in the best league in the world.""

Western United star Daniel Penha was set to play but has withdrawn after returning home to Brazil for personal reasons, while Macarthur FC captain Ulises Davila was not selected.

The full A-League All Stars Men squad is set to assemble in Melbourne next week and will hold a public training session at AAMI Park on May 21.


Goalkeeper: Lawrence Thomas (Western Sydney Wanderers)

Defenders: Kai Trewin (Brisbane Roar), Marcelo (Western Sydney Wanderers), Ben Garuccio (Western United)

Midfielders: Jay O'Shea (Brisbane Roar), Jake Hollman (Macarthur FC), Tolgay Arslan (Melbourne City), Angus Thurgate (Newcastle Jets)

Forwards: Nestory Irankunda (Adelaide United), Mathew Leckie (Melbourne City), Apostolos Stamatelopoulos (Newcastle Jets), Adam Taggart (Perth Glory), Nicolas Milanovic (Western Sydney Wanderers).

What are you prepared to lose today? Set a deposit limit.

For free and confidential support call 1800 858 858 or visit