show me:

De Minaur, Hunter among Newcombe Medal nominees

3 minute read

Tennis stars Alex de Minaur and Storm Hunter are part of a hot six-player field of nominees for the coveted Newcombe Medal.

ALEX DE MINAUR. Picture: Al Bello/Getty Images

Six of Australia's leading tennis players are in the running for the prestigious Newcombe Medal, which will be presented at the Australian Tennis Awards in Melbourne.

Australia's top-ranked men's player Alex de Minaur, who is on the cusp of a career-high top-10 ranking, is among the favourites, alongside newly crowed world No.1 women's doubles player Storm Hunter.

The other four candidates to be crowned the nation's most outstanding player in 2023 are Matt Ebden, Rinky Hijikata, Alexei Popyrin and Matt Purcell.

Multiple grand slam winner and Australian tennis legend John Newcombe, in whose honour the medal is named, will present the award at a gala event in Melbourne on December 11.

The now retired Ash Barty won the award for a record fifth time in 2022.

There will be 13 additional awards to celebrate the achievements and contributions of tennis clubs, volunteers, officials, coaches, schools and talented junior players.

"2023 has been a remarkable year for Australian tennis with many career-best rankings, grand slam titles, a new world No.1 and back-to-back Davis Cup finals appearances," said Tennis Australia boss Craig Tiley.

"While we have an outstanding cohort of professional players excelling on and off the court and providing tremendous inspiration to the next generation of Australian players, this special event is also a wonderful opportunity to acknowledge our grassroots tennis community and everyone involved in the delivery of our great sport."

Think. Is this a bet you really want to place?

For free and confidential support call 1800 858 858 or visit